The Bar Association offers its members a variety of means to continue their legal educations and participate in the operation of the Association. Section chairs serve for a calendar year are appointed by the President.

Sections meetings are open to all Bar Association members and explore issues and developments in different areas of the law. The Bar Association is a California State Bar approved provider of Mandatory Continuing Legal Education and many of the Section programs qualify for MCLE credit.

Section dues, $30 per section, include any MCLE costs associated with meetings offered by each section.

To see all upcoming MCLE events provided by the Sections, go to the top of this page and click on the Calendar, or click here.

Are you new to the San Mateo County Community? Is this your first year practicing and would like to get involved?  If you answered “yes” to any of these questions, click here fore more information on how to become part of the Barristers Section.


ADR Section
Chair: Katherine Gallo klgallo@discoveryreferee.com

Vice-Chair: Sandy Narayan, (650) 403-0150 sandy@narayanlaw.com

Barristers Section
President: Maggie W. Trinh, (650) 600-5309 mtrinh@chjllp.com

Vice President: Kenneth R. Linthicum, (650) 355-8834 kennethlinthicum@yahoo.com

Business/Business Litigation Section
Chair: Marc Bender, (650) 353-4503 mbender@dgflaw.com

Corporate In-House Counsel Section
Chair: Carolyn R. Adler, (650) 857-6257 adlercra@yahoo.com

Vice-Chair: Sandy Narayan, (650) 403-0150 Sandy@narayanlaw.com

Criminal Law Section
Chair: Ariel Rief, (650) 477-1238 ari@rieflegal.com

Estate Planning Probate Section
Chair: Jessica L. Rowe, (650) 368-4662  jrowe@arcr.com

Family Law Section
Co-Chairs: Mirisa San Filippo, (650) 289-1400  msanfilippo@fkkblaw.com &

Joshua M. Cutcher, (650) 349-9920  jcutcher@bswfamlaw.com

Government/Municipal Law Section
Chair: Jean Savaree, (650) 593-3117  jbs@adcl.com

Intellectual Property Section
Chair: Denise De Mory, (650) 351-7241 ddemory@bdiplaw.com

Labor and Employment Section
Co-Chairs:  Katie Debski, (650) 378-1472 kdebski@bmdlegal.com &

David J. Sarnoff, (650) 393-4995 dsarnoff@sarnofflaw.com

Real Estate Section
Chair: Grant Baker, (650) 347-5000   grant@mballenlaw.com

Women Lawyers’ Section
Chair: Michelle Barnett, (650) 368-4662  mbarnett@arcr.com

Vice Chair: Katherine A. West, (650) 341-2585 katherine@mcglashan.com