The SMCBA’s dues year is January 1 through December 31.

  • New attorney members of the SMCBA pay no dues for their first 12 months of membership.

  • Dues for Associate (non-attorney) members are $205 per year.  Dues will be prorated based on the quarter in which an associate join.

  • Student members join for FREE as long as they are enrolled in an accredited law school.

  • All current members will receive an email reminder to renew their SMCBA online on January 1st.  Lapsed members must contact SMCBA to renew their dues.

Annual Dues
  • Dues for attorneys admitted to practice in California more than 5 years ago are $260 per year.

  • Dues for attorneys admitted to practice in California within the past 5 years are $195 per year.

  • Dues for Retired Members are $100 per year.

  • Former members of the SMCBA pay a $100 reinstatement fee, in addition to the dues noted above. Former members wishing to apply for the Court Security Card Key must bring current past years’ dues to show two consecutive years of membership.

  • New attorney members will be invoiced for that portion of the dues year not covered by their first free 12 months.

Section Dues
  • Section dues are $35 per section for attorneys.  However, Section dues are free the first year of membership, if you have never been a member of this association in the past.

  • Section dues include any costs of MCLE credits offered by that section for the dues year.

  • All new California State Bar admittees and any new attorney member practicing 10 years or less or 36 years old or younger are automatically registered in the Barristers at no cost.

If you have any questions regarding dues for the San Mateo County Bar Association, please contact our Membership Dept. at (650) 298-4030 or

Life Members

Life Members (listed below) made a commitment to SMCBA to allow the Association to continue to provide the best possible resources for its membership.  For their commitment, SMCBA is eternally grateful.  Life membership is no longer available.

Joshua M. Bentley
Martha G. Bronitsky
Joseph W. Cotchett
Vivian L. Kral
Lorelei Keim
Michael D. Liberty
Niall P. McCarthy
Mark C. Molumphy
William L. Nagle
Frank M. Pitre
Bruce L. Simon
John A. Skelton Jr.
Mark Watson